Welcome to Media Center Master!
A powerful solution for mastering your digital media library.
Supporting Emby, Kodi/XBMC/OSMC, Plex, Windows Media Center, and more!

Home Download Gallery Wiki Issue Tracker Licensing Forums

   FAQ  •  Search •  Login •  Register     
It is currently December 15th, 2018, 5:22 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2018, 5:14 pm 
Offline
Xvid Movie

Joined: December 3rd, 2014, 6:39 pm
Posts: 39
I have noticed recently that after MCM runs for a while, a day or so, I end up with my CPU maxed out and it is all coming from multiple 10 to 20 ffprobe processes that seem to be started from MCM.

Where does MCM use ffprobe? Is there a setting I need to look at?


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: December 4th, 2018, 7:41 pm 
Offline
Downloaded Clip

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 9:30 pm
Posts: 8
I have the exact same problem, starting within the last two weeks. I did a complete uninstall of MCM, and reinstall, but no change. My CPU is maxed out. Can someone please help? Greatly appreciated!
Frank


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: December 11th, 2018, 11:57 am 
Offline
Downloaded Clip

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 9:30 pm
Posts: 8
For unrelated reasons, I performed a clean install of Windows 10, installed MCM, and restored my configuration. I still have a dozen or more FFprobe.exe processes running after a couple hours, and my CPU is at 100%. Would greatly appreciate assistance in determining how to fix this critical issue. Thank you!
Frank


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: December 13th, 2018, 6:07 am 
Offline
Xvid Movie

Joined: December 3rd, 2014, 6:39 pm
Posts: 39
Thanks for letting me know so I don't do the same thing.

It would help if I even knew what it ffmpeg was for. I'll try going through the settings and disabling things related to recoding or creating icons.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: December 13th, 2018, 10:58 am 
Offline
Downloaded Clip

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 9:30 pm
Posts: 8
Without any input on why ffprobe is running and maxing out my CPU, I have shut off autoupdate and reverted back to the previous posted build in downloads (2.18.1818.1010 from January 18th) and restored my configuration. ffprobe does not appear at all in my task manager and my CPU usage is low as it should be. I assume there are other problems I will have with running a build that is almost a year old, but I have no other choice at this time.

Still looking for help to determine why ffprobe is running, and why it is maxing out our CPUs on the latest build.

Thank you,
Frank


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: Yesterday, 7:15 am 
Offline
Xvid Movie

Joined: December 3rd, 2014, 6:39 pm
Posts: 39
It looks like it has something to do with trailers. Here is the full command. I found this using sysinternals process explorer.

"ffprobe.exe" -hide_banner -v warning -analyzeduration 900000000 -probesize 900000000 -print_format compact -show_format -show_streams -show_entries format=duration -find_stream_info -i "E:\movies\Equalizer 2, The (2018) [4K] [R] [voted 6.8] [Action-Adventure]\trailer.mp4"

Every ffprobe process that was hung was working on a trailer file.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: Yesterday, 7:22 am 
Offline
Xvid Movie

Joined: December 3rd, 2014, 6:39 pm
Posts: 39
I just verified that on the trailers tab, i have selected download trailers, but nothing else. Since no re-coding options are selected, I would not think ffprobe would be used.

For the time being, I have unchecked download trailers to see if the problem goes away.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: Yesterday, 10:30 am 
Offline
Downloaded Clip

Joined: April 16th, 2010, 9:30 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks for the lead regarding trailers, please let us know if this resolves the issue for you.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: Yesterday, 3:23 pm 
Offline
Xvid Movie

Joined: December 3rd, 2014, 6:39 pm
Posts: 39
I just checked and there were 3 ffprobe processes stuck. All were working on the same trailer.mp4 that had been downloaded. I removed that trailer and another trailer.mp4 file that I found in another recent folder.

I'm not sure if this is related, but when I tried to play the trailer.mp4 on my MCM machine the player gave this error.

This item was encoded in a format that's not supported

Opening it in VLC, I got this error.
No suitable decoder module:
VLC does not support the audio or video format "undf". Unfortunately there is no way for you to fix this.


I'll leave downloading trailers off and see where I get.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: Lots of ffprobe processes running at 100%
PostPosted: Yesterday, 3:27 pm 
Offline
Community Support
User avatar

Joined: September 10th, 2010, 8:36 am
Posts: 2568
Location: Washington
mschlott wrote:
I just checked and there were 3 ffprobe processes stuck. All were working on the same trailer.mp4 that had been downloaded. I removed that trailer and another trailer.mp4 file that I found in another recent folder.

I'm not sure if this is related, but when I tried to play the trailer.mp4 on my MCM machine the player gave this error.

This item was encoded in a format that's not supported

Opening it in VLC, I got this error.
No suitable decoder module:
VLC does not support the audio or video format "undf". Unfortunately there is no way for you to fix this.


I'll leave downloading trailers off and see where I get.


And what options do/did you have enabled for trailers? Are you re-encoding?

Do you have Attempt to tag files enabled? Application-S&P-Movies

_________________
Support Information
Help-Support Information, Click "Copy All", "Yes", "OK", "Close" and paste in forum

Debug logging
Help-Debug-Show developer-level debug messaging

stable version 2.18 (build 32818.738) / November 24th, 2018


 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group



Copyright © 2009-2018, Media Center Master, Inc. All rights reserved.